Re-Education

I’m going back to school with my project. I remember how I used to challenge what I was being taught, and present what I felt more appropriate. It reflects a call from the conversation with my brother, for accounts of history that can be made relevant to where he is today. I am also considering the need to rewrite histories into a global narrative, a World History. Slavery is a human condition, not only African, and within the Atlantic Slave Trade, more than just African’s were exploited. Slavery is also prevalent in modern-day trafficking which I’m sure has a history also.

I want to create an online educational resource, not just for black history month, but for 11-16 year olds to understand, using visual language and an internet culture that they’d understand. I am aiming at this point to communicate the histories of slaveries, intending to work at one level of revised world histories, and also making history more visual and accessible for students.

Leave a Reply

